Topic
Independent broker review

Saxo Review

Saxo is a multi-entity investment and trading group. The FCA register identifies Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd under FRN 551422, while Saxo’s official licensing page states that Saxo Bank A/S is a Danish bank with licence 1149. That distinction matters: your country of residence determines the company, rules, products and protections that may apply. Saxo’s current public platform pages present SaxoTrader for web, mobile and desktop; older SaxoTraderGO and SaxoTraderPRO names should not be assumed to describe separate current platforms. Product and pricing availability varies by jurisdiction. BrokerSafari reviewed public sources only and did not open an account or test execution, customer support or withdrawals.

Evidence Score
7.8 / 10Good · medium evidence confidence
Last reviewed
Checked

At a glance

Provider structure
Separate Saxo companies serve customers in different jurisdictions.
FCA record located
Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd — FRN 551422; permission scope is activity-specific.
Danish licence disclosure
Saxo states Saxo Bank A/S holds Danish licence 1149; not independently matched in this review.
Current platform name
SaxoTrader, with web, mobile and desktop access described by the provider.
Products
Provider pages describe stocks, ETFs, bonds, funds, options, futures, forex and CFDs; local availability varies.
Pricing
Instrument-, account- and residence-specific schedules; no universal fee is asserted.
Withdrawal testing
Not performed.
Last checked
21 October 2026
BrokerSafari Evidence Score
7.8 / 10 — Good
Evidence confidence
medium
Evidence coverage
73.5%

Pros and cons

Pros

  • An FCA-hosted record identifies Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd and a firm reference number.
  • Saxo publishes licensing, platform, product and pricing information through official pages.
  • Listed options and multiple asset classes are described in provider product materials, with jurisdiction caveats.

Cons

  • The group’s multiple legal entities mean a UK record cannot be applied to every Saxo account.
  • Products, pricing, account requirements and protections depend on country and contracting entity.
  • Older SaxoTraderGO and SaxoTraderPRO labels may appear in older material; current public pages reviewed present SaxoTrader.
  • No account, platform, live cost, support or withdrawal test was performed.

BrokerSafari Evidence Score

This is an evidence-based editorial calculation, not a guarantee of safety, an account test or an investment recommendation. It uses only the structured research recorded for this broker, never another website’s rating.

BrokerSafari Evidence Score
7.8 / 10 — Good
Evidence confidence
medium
Evidence coverage
73.5%
Assessed quality score
8.1 / 10
Evidence-gap penalty
−0.3
Score before caps
7.8 / 10
Calculated score after caps
7.8 / 10
Regulation & Legal Entity
Weight 30%; coverage 66.7% (2/3 inputs). Quality 8.3 / 10; 24.9 / 30 weighted points before normalization and penalties.
Safety & Client Protection
Weight 20%; coverage 50% (2/4 inputs). Quality 8.0 / 10; 16 / 20 weighted points before normalization and penalties.
Transparency
Weight 15%; coverage 100% (4/4 inputs). Quality 8.6 / 10; 12.9 / 15 weighted points before normalization and penalties.
Fees & Trading Costs
Weight 10%; coverage 100% (4/4 inputs). Quality 7.5 / 10; 7.5 / 10 weighted points before normalization and penalties.
Deposits & Withdrawals
Weight 10%; coverage 60% (3/5 inputs). Quality 7.5 / 10; 7.5 / 10 weighted points before normalization and penalties.
Trading Platform & Products
Weight 10%; coverage 100% (4/4 inputs). Quality 7.9 / 10; 7.9 / 10 weighted points before normalization and penalties.
Track Record & Independent Evidence
Weight 5%; coverage 50% (1/2 inputs). Quality 8.0 / 10; 4 / 5 weighted points before normalization and penalties.

Quality uses only assessable inputs. Entirely unassessed categories are excluded and remaining category weights are normalized; missing evidence is not zero quality. Coverage separately measures assessed input weight out of 100%. A gap penalty of 0.0, 0.3, 0.7 or 1.2 is applied before regulatory caps. Source strength affects confidence, not a direct multiplication of the quality score.

Rating cap

None.

Why this score?

Verified strengths

  • Regulation & Legal Entity — Account-serving legal entity: partially verified. Partial verification only; unresolved scope remains an evidence gap.
  • Regulation & Legal Entity — Relevant financial regulation: partially verified. Only the documented relevant entity/permission is verified, not every group licence or account.
  • Trading Platform & Products — Platform identity and clarity: partially verified. Partial verification only; unresolved scope remains an evidence gap.

Provider-disclosed evidence

  • Safety & Client Protection — Client-money segregation: disclosed.
  • Safety & Client Protection — Investor-protection coverage: partial. Partial coverage is disclosed; independent account eligibility is not established.
  • Transparency — Company transparency: high.
  • Transparency — Legal-document transparency: high.
  • Transparency — Regulatory-disclosure transparency: high.
  • Transparency — Contact transparency: medium.
  • Fees & Trading Costs — Spread transparency: medium.
  • Fees & Trading Costs — Commission transparency: medium.
  • Fees & Trading Costs — Overnight-fee transparency: medium.
  • Fees & Trading Costs — Live trading-cost testing/corroboration: provider disclosed only.
  • Deposits & Withdrawals — Deposit and withdrawal fee transparency: medium.
  • Deposits & Withdrawals — Payment-method transparency: medium.
  • Deposits & Withdrawals — Withdrawal-term transparency: medium.
  • Trading Platform & Products — Mobile availability: disclosed.
  • Trading Platform & Products — Trading-product transparency: medium.
  • Trading Platform & Products — Platform testing: provider disclosed only.

Supplementary independent evidence

  • Track Record & Independent Evidence — Independent-source documentation: medium.

Evidence gaps

  • Regulation & Legal Entity — Regulatory warnings and enforcement: unassessed.
  • Safety & Client Protection — Negative-balance protection: unassessed.
  • Safety & Client Protection — Security controls: unassessed.
  • Deposits & Withdrawals — Independent withdrawal testing/corroboration: unassessed.
  • Deposits & Withdrawals — Verified withdrawal findings: unassessed.
  • Track Record & Independent Evidence — Operating history: unassessed.
  • A relevant entity/regulator relationship is verified; other group licences and account-specific coverage remain unresolved.

Verified concerns

No verified adverse finding is recorded in these inputs. This is not a clean bill of health or continuous monitoring.

Read the scoring methodology →

Broker Overview

Saxo is a multi-asset investment and trading brand that operates through separate legal companies. The provider states that the relevant customer agreement depends on country of residence; group-level information should not be substituted for the company named in an individual account agreement.

The FCA register identifies Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd under FRN 551422. Saxo’s official licensing page separately states that Saxo Bank A/S is a Danish bank with licence 1149. These are distinct companies and the two records are not interchangeable.

Saxo’s current public platform page presents SaxoTrader for web, mobile and desktop. SaxoTraderGO and SaxoTraderPRO are legacy names in older material and should not be assumed to be separate current offerings without checking the local platform page.

  • FCA — Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd

    Source type
    Regulator
    Authority
    Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)
    Supports
    Regulatory record, warning or authorization scope
    Last checked
  • Saxo — licences and regulation

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Broker Overview information described on this page
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

Regulation

The FCA’s official register identifies Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd under FRN 551422 and states that its permissions are specific to activities and product types. Confirm the current record and permission scope for the service being considered.

Saxo’s licensing page states that Saxo Bank A/S is incorporated in Denmark under company number 15731249 and licence 1149. This is preserved as a provider disclosure because this review did not independently match that entry in a live Finanstilsynet record.

This is not a complete regulator-by-regulator review of every Saxo company. Warning and enforcement status outside the cited records remains unknown; that is not a finding that no warnings or actions exist.

  • Saxo — licensing details

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Regulation information described on this page
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

Legal Entity & Jurisdiction

Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd

Legal entity and jurisdiction details for Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd
Legal entitySaxo Capital Markets UK Ltd
RegulatorFinancial Conduct Authority (FCA)
Licence / referenceFRN 551422
JurisdictionUnited Kingdom
Client typeNot available in the cited record; check the local account agreement.
Record statusThe FCA register identifies this firm as authorised for specific activities and product types; check the current permission scope.
Evidence typeRegulator record
SourceFCA Financial Services Register — Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd
Last checked

Saxo Bank A/S

Legal entity and jurisdiction details for Saxo Bank A/S
Legal entitySaxo Bank A/S
RegulatorDanish Financial Supervisory Authority (Finanstilsynet)
Licence / referenceLicence 1149; company registration 15731249
JurisdictionDenmark
Client typeNot available in the cited record; check the local account agreement.
Record statusSaxo’s licence page discloses this licence; current activities and status should be confirmed with Finanstilsynet.
Evidence typeProvider disclosure
SourceSaxo — licences and regulation
Last checked

Broker brands may operate through multiple companies. The applicable regulator, permissions, products, client protections and complaint route depend on the legal entity named in the account agreement and the customer’s jurisdiction. A group company’s licence does not automatically apply to another company.

License Information

Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd

Legal entity
Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd
Regulator
Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) (United Kingdom)
Licence type
FCA firm reference number
Licence identifier
FRN 551422
Licence status
The FCA register identifies this firm as authorised for specific activities and product types; check the current permission scope.
Evidence status
The FCA register names Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd and FRN 551422. The record applies to this UK company and its stated permissions, not to every Saxo entity.

Saxo Bank A/S

Legal entity
Saxo Bank A/S
Regulator
Danish Financial Supervisory Authority (Finanstilsynet) (Denmark)
Licence type
Bank licence stated by Saxo
Licence identifier
Licence 1149; company registration 15731249
Licence status
Saxo’s licence page discloses this licence; current activities and status should be confirmed with Finanstilsynet.
Evidence status
Saxo’s official licensing page identifies Saxo Bank A/S, company registration 15731249 and Danish licence number 1149. This page records the provider disclosure and does not treat it as an independently matched regulator-register result.

A licence or firm number applies to the named legal entity and the activities listed in its regulator record. It does not establish that the same company serves all Saxo customers or that every product is covered.

  • Saxo — provider licensing disclosures

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    License Information information described on this page
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

Company Information

Company information in public sources
BrandSaxo.
UK legal entity identifiedSaxo Capital Markets UK Ltd.
UK company number07413871, as listed in the FCA record.
Danish entity disclosedSaxo Bank A/S; Saxo states company registration 15731249.
Account entityDepends on country of residence; confirm in the customer agreement.
Group ownership and financial assessmentNot independently assessed for this review.
  • FCA — Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd

    Source type
    Regulator
    Authority
    Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)
    Supports
    Regulatory record, warning or authorization scope
    Last checked
  • Saxo — group licensing information

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Company or legal-entity disclosures
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

Trading Platforms

Saxo’s current international platform page describes SaxoTrader as an advanced platform for web, mobile and desktop. Product access and functions may differ by country, account and customer classification. BrokerSafari did not install or test the software.

SaxoTraderGO and SaxoTraderPRO are older platform names found in historical material. The current platform page reviewed for this article uses SaxoTrader; readers should check the local provider page and account portal for current naming and availability.

Platform checks
Current provider pageSaxoTrader for web, mobile and desktop.
Historical namesSaxoTraderGO and SaxoTraderPRO are not treated here as separate current products.
Options and multi-asset accessProvider describes access through SaxoTrader; instrument and account availability varies by jurisdiction.
TestingNo independent installation, usability, uptime, execution or security test was conducted.
  • Saxo — SaxoTrader platform

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Published platform or app information
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

Trading Products

Saxo’s product pages describe access to listed options, stocks, ETFs, bonds, funds, futures, forex and CFDs. The exact instruments and legal form of a product depend on the market and the customer’s entity. A page in one country is not proof of availability elsewhere.

Product scope
Listed optionsSaxo describes options on stocks, indices and futures; confirm local exchange and account access.
Other marketsProvider pages describe securities, funds, futures, forex and CFDs; this is not a guarantee of global availability.
OwnershipRights depend on the instrument; a CFD is not ownership of the underlying asset.
Country eligibilityMust be confirmed through the local Saxo site and customer agreement.
  • Saxo UK — listed options

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Trading Products information described on this page
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo — products available in SaxoTrader

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Trading Products information described on this page
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

Trading Conditions

Account access, margin, product eligibility and trading permissions can depend on residence, customer classification and product. Saxo describes account tiers and conditions on regional pages; a minimum deposit, margin level or feature from one market should not be applied globally.

For listed options, Saxo’s UK materials describe separate client margin profiles and restrictions on writing options. Review the applicable options risk disclosure, margin schedule and account profile before trading. No orders were placed for this review.

  • Saxo — individual accounts

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Trading Conditions information described on this page
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo UK — listed options and conditions

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Trading Conditions information described on this page
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

Fees

Saxo publishes charges, commissions and margin schedules, but its pricing depends on market, instrument, account tier and country of residence. The provider directs customers to current platform pricing and trade tickets for applicable amounts; this review does not present one global spread or commission as universal.

Compare the relevant instrument’s commission, spread, exchange or market-data charge, financing, currency conversion, custody and payment costs. Minimum or example prices do not establish the total cost of a trade.

  • Saxo UK — listed options commissions

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Fees information described on this page
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

Deposit & Withdrawal

Saxo’s international charges page states that Saxo does not charge deposit or withdrawal fees, while payment intermediaries may charge. That provider statement should not be treated as a universal funding schedule: methods, currencies, limits and processing depend on the country and account.

Check the funding instructions shown for the exact legal entity and account, including payment-recipient name, withdrawal destination, conversion and intermediary charges. BrokerSafari did not make a deposit or withdrawal.

  • Saxo — charges and payment-fee disclosures

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Published pricing and fee disclosures
    Supports
    Published deposit and withdrawal terms
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo — customer support and services

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Deposit & Withdrawal information described on this page
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

Research Summary

This review draws on the FCA record for Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd and Saxo’s official licensing, platform, product, account and pricing pages accessed on 21 October 2026. The UK regulatory record is distinguished from the provider-disclosed Danish licence information.

No account was opened. We did not test platform reliability, order execution, spreads, customer support, funding or withdrawals, and we did not conduct an exhaustive warning or enforcement search across all Saxo entities.

The BrokerSafari Evidence Score is calculated from the structured evidence recorded on this page. It summarizes documented research and evidence gaps; it is not a measure of investment performance, suitability or safety guarantee.

  • FCA — Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd

    Source type
    Regulator
    Authority
    Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)
    Supports
    Regulatory record, warning or authorization scope
    Last checked
  • Saxo — official licensing information

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Research Summary information described on this page
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo — current platform information

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Published platform or app information
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo — pricing overview

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Published pricing and fee disclosures
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

Safety / Regulation Analysis

The FCA record cited here applies only to Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd and its permission scope. Saxo’s stated Danish licence applies to Saxo Bank A/S. A customer should identify the contracting company in the account documents before relying on any regulator, investor-protection or client-money statement.

Saxo’s legal pages describe protections applicable to particular entities and eligible assets. This review has not independently assessed the rules or eligibility for every country, customer classification or asset. Do not interpret an entity’s regulatory status as protection against investment losses.

The warning and enforcement status of entities not covered by the cited records remains unknown. Check current regulator notices and the exact account entity. Investments can lose value; leveraged products can cause rapid losses.

  • FCA — Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd

    Source type
    Regulator
    Authority
    Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)
    Supports
    Regulatory record, warning or authorization scope
    Last checked
  • Saxo — licences and regulation

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Safety / Regulation Analysis information described on this page
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

What We Verified and What Remains Unverified

We matched Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd to the FCA register and recorded Saxo Bank A/S licence information as a provider disclosure. We reviewed current Saxo pages for platforms, products, pricing and legal information.

  • The legal entity that would serve a specific reader.
  • Every Saxo company’s current regulator permissions and warning status.
  • Live spreads, commissions, execution, support and withdrawal performance.
  • Country-specific product eligibility, margin, protection and funding terms.

Related Broker Research

Evidence Reviewed

  • FCA — Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd

    Source type
    Regulator
    Authority
    Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)
    Supports
    Regulatory record, warning or authorization scope
    Supports
    The FCA register names Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd and FRN 551422. The record applies to this UK company and its stated permissions, not to every Saxo entity.
    Evidence status
    Independently verified
    Last checked
  • Saxo — licences and regulation

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Claim-specific support is not stated for this source.
    Supports
    Company or legal-entity disclosures
    Supports
    Saxo’s official licensing page identifies Saxo Bank A/S, company registration 15731249 and Danish licence number 1149. This page records the provider disclosure and does not treat it as an independently matched regulator-register result.
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo UK — legal disclaimer

    Source type
    Broker legal document
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Company or legal-entity disclosures
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo — SaxoTrader platform

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Published platform or app information
    Supports
    Claim-specific support is not stated for this source.
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo UK — listed options

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Claim-specific support is not stated for this source.
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo — individual accounts

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Claim-specific support is not stated for this source.
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo — commissions, charges and margin schedule

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Claim-specific support is not stated for this source.
    Supports
    Published pricing and fee disclosures
    Supports
    Published deposit and withdrawal terms
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo UK — listed options commissions

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Claim-specific support is not stated for this source.
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked
  • Saxo — customer support and services

    Source type
    Broker-official source
    Authority
    Saxo
    Supports
    Claim-specific support is not stated for this source.
    Evidence status
    Provider-disclosed
    Last checked

Related broker research

Related trading guides

FAQ

The FCA register identifies Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd under FRN 551422. Saxo’s official licensing page also states that Saxo Bank A/S holds Danish licence 1149. These are separate companies; verify the entity and permissions in your account agreement.

Related Broker Reviews